Community Achievement Awards 2012 image

Community Achievement Awards 2012

Saturday 6 October 2012 saw the celebration in some style of the 11th African and African Caribbean Achievement Awards to a full house of 130 people ranging from toddlers to grandparents at the African Caribbean Centre.  The event was in partnership between African Caribbean Citizens Forum (ACCF), the African Caribbean Centre and a group of volunteers from the community to ensure that successful role models from the African, African Caribbean and Mixed Heritage communities in Leicester and Leicestershire are recognised and celebrated for their achievements. This year saw a record number of nominations received as well as an impressive list of sponsors and VIPs including the Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress who all attended to show their support for the African Heritage community in Leicester and Leicestershire.

We would like to thank all involved – the organising group, sponsors, volunteers, guest speakers, entertainers and all of the staff at the African Caribbean Centre and all of you that attended on the night and made it such a huge success. We would particularly like to congratulate the following shortlisted nominees and winners as follows:

Business Award – Sponsored by KGB Ground Maintenance and LACBA, presented by Douglas Beoku-Betts, Chairman of LACBA

Winner – Lawson Williams, Lawman Commercial Services Ltd

2nd –  Sandra Pollock, Upwards

3rd – Randy Stabana, Stabana Cultural Products

Arts Award – Sponsored by Spinney Hill Ward Community Meeting, presented by Steve Goddard, Head of Community Services, Leicester City Council

Winner – Philip Herbert

2nd –  Andrew Harrison

Community Development Award  – Sponsored by Foundation Housing Association, presented by Azim Walters, Chair of Foundation Housing Association

Winner – Ahmed Bile Rafle

2nd –  Roy Cole

3rd –  Kenric Burgess


Special Person Award  – Sponsored by Leicestershire Fire and Rescue Service, presented by Chief Fire Officer Dave Webb

Winner – Louis Hamilton

2nd –   Marion Hinds-Brown

Young Person Award – Sponsored by Easy Internet and Leicestershire Police, presented by Mark Esho of Easy Internet and Chief Constable Simon Cole

Winner – Aminata Kamara

2nd –  Eshe Bandale

3rd – Andrew Olasehinde


Professional  Award – Sponsored by Next plc and Platinum Consolidated, presented by Tony Rotimi, Platinum Consolidated

Winner – Isaac Hinds

2nd –  Sandra Pollock

3rd – Ian Harding


Sports Person Award – Sponsored by Leicestershire and Rutland County Football Association, presented by Keith Murdoch, CEO of LRCFA

Winner – Colin Greenidge

2nd –  Kerry Williams

3rd – Raphael Thomas-Edwards


Education Award – Sponsored by South Leicestershire College, presented by Fiona Baker, Head of Employer Services, SLC

Winner – Karena Matthew-Donawa

2nd –  Safiya Paul

3rd –  Cassie-Lee Begnor


Lifetime Achievement Award – Sponsored by Leicester City Council Community Services and the African Caribbean Centre, presented by Steve Goddard, Head of Community Services, Leicester City Council

Winner – Earle Robinson, MBE

2nd – Carol Leeming

3rd – Colin Greenidge